Philomene Zangio

Let’s take up the challenges of the 21st Century and build a better future for all and bequeath a prosperous city, where life is enjoyable, to the generations to come.

I will work for:
  • inclusion, integration and social participation
  • environmental protection and enhancement of our heritage
  • Moncton’s vibrancy through arts, culture and sports

A woman of ideas, and a woman of action, Phylomène Zangio is well-known for her community involvement, her commitment to equality for women and to professional and social inclusion for men and women immigrating to New Brunswick. She was the 2015 winner of the Black Excellence Award for outstanding influence and leadership.

Phylomène was the first co-chair of the consensus-building forum Voices of New Brunswick Women, and has served on the Board of the following organizations: Regroupement féministe du Nouveau-Brunswick, Société de l’Acadie du Nouveau-Brunswick, National Coalition of Provincial and Territorial Advisory Councils on the Status of Women, Community Advisory Board on Mental Health of the Vitalité Health Network.

She was an active participant in creating a support Centre for francophone immigrants in Southeastern New Brunswick (CAFI). She was also active in the parent support committees in Moncton’s Champlain, Mascaret and Odyssée schools.

A basketball mom and a proud grand-mother, Phylomène has been living in Moncton for almost 30 years, speaks six languages, has studied management and has held the position of news editor for the journal Revue de l’Université de Moncton since 2000.

Philomene Zangio

Relevons ensemble les défis du XXIe siècle pour un avenir meilleur, et pour léguer aux générations futures une ville prospère où il fera bon vivre.

Je travaillerai pour :
  • l’inclusion, l’intégration et la participation sociale;
  • la protection de l’environnement et la valorisation du patrimoine;
  • le rayonnement des arts, de la culture et des sports.

Femme d’idées, femme d’action, Phylomène Zangio est connue pour son implication communautaire, son engagement pour l’égalité des femmes et pour l’inclusion professionnelle et sociale des immigrantes et immigrants au Nouveau-Brunswick. Elle est lauréate en 2015 du prix d’excellence en leadership et influence Black Excellence Award.

Phylomène a été la première coprésidente du Forum de concertation Les voix des femmes du Nouveau-Brunswick et a siégé aux conseils d’administration suivants : le Regroupement féministe du Nouveau-Brunswick, la Société de l’Acadie du Nouveau-Brunswick, la Coalition des conseils consultatifs provinciaux et territoriaux sur le statut de la femme, le Comité Consultatif Communautaire en santé mentale au Réseau de santé Vitalité.

Elle a participé à la création du Centre d’accueil et d’accompagnement francophone des immigrants du Sud-Est du Nouveau-Brunswick (CAFI). Elle a aussi été active au comité parental d’appui des écoles Champlain, le Mascaret et l’Odyssée.

Phylomène, basketball mom et fière grand-mère, habite Moncton depuis près de 30 ans, maitrise six langues, a fait des études en gestion et est secrétaire d’édition de la Revue de l’Université de Moncton depuis 2000.